Ultimate Warfare Online multiplayer Text-based game
Welcome to the Ultimate-Warfare forums!
You are currently not logged in, you can only view the forums now. Click here to login!

Last Login: CrossSet - Last Registered: CrossSet
Map Relevancy?
Name: Reyth
Player
I am new at this game so I might be missing something but a thought has occurred to me concerning the importance of the map.

If I am correct the map only relates to combat in terms of distance and the time it takes for troops to arrive.

How long would it take for a troop to arrive from A1 to Z100?

I am thinking that the map could be more relevant if there were line of supply/attrition costs to longer combat; like if a troop travels a long way there is a defense bonus for the defender. Planes & missiles would have no problems at all.
Date/Time:
05/11/11 : 09:39:08

Player
BUMP
Date/Time:
06/11/11 : 17:02:41

Name: frank
Forum Moderator
It would take 1:45 hours to cross the map. How could the map be more relevant? Costs increase if you send more units already
Date/Time:
06/11/11 : 17:17:29

Player
How do the costs increase if you send more units? There is a cost to send units?
Date/Time:
06/11/11 : 20:07:51

Forum Moderator
Hmm my mistake, on my development server i already implemented costs per units. The more units you send, the more it will cost. Maybe i add distance to it as another cost factor.
Date/Time:
06/11/11 : 22:36:23

Player
Right like a formula where cost is increased exponentially by distance.

Like I said, I'm new but I think having the concept of borders would be exciting.
Date/Time:
07/11/11 : 07:38:02

Forum Moderator
Yes increasing the cost exponentially sounds fair. You can define your idea about borders?
Date/Time:
07/11/11 : 10:00:20

Player